Technology, the Internet, and Multitasking: The Problem

8 thoughts on “Technology, the Internet, and Multitasking: The Problem”

  1. True, true, true. I especially liked the bit about “the medium is the message” and the example about Nietzsche. As a fellow pen-and-paper holdout, I’ve found that you have to be more mentally engaged when you write things out by hand. The few times I’ve taken notes on a laptop I was surprised to see how much more information I could tack down, but only by ending up with a document filled with my professor’s words captured verbatim. I had to take notes on my notes in order to study for the final!

    And sometimes even the way you write by hand can make a difference: I was writing something in cursive today and became incredibly frustrated that I couldn’t get my thoughts down as fast as when I just printed the words. Apparently my “deep” thoughts were so ephemeral that they would disappear if I didn’t get them down immediately! The way our minds have been trained to work is “thinner” indeed.

    While our go-go-go, mind-deteriorating culture is our own particular albatross, I comfort (?) myself with the words of the Teacher:

    The eye never has enough of seeing,
    nor the ear its fill of hearing.
    What has been will be again,
    what has been done will be done again;
    there is nothing new under the sun. (Ecc. 1: 8–9)

  2. I would agree that our technology drunk culture has taken some things a little too far.

    I would point something out though. With the inception of the internet, we have been given the privilege of communicating our own opinions to a wider audience, and in turn reading the opinions of a wider audience. On the one hand, it allows this very fine blog to be made and read by a wide audience at Cal. On the other hand, as many will know, it has also allowed all sorts of negative/hateful/divisive opinions to be aired about to a very wide audience.

    I suppose that my point is this. The internet is another garden-of-eden that we can choose to horrifically ruin, or wisely tend. Let’s hope we take better care of it from now on.

  3. Thanks for your comments, Drew. I agree with you that the Internet can be used wisely and well. After all, I am writing comments on this blog. In future posts, I hope to articulate some thoughts about how Christians can approach technology more thoughtfully. Stay tuned!

  4. As I read this post and write my comment on my new iPhone, while listening to music, getting a call from my dad, and attempting to push it away so I can get some sleep, I wonder if your warnings have come too late for me! Look forward to reading about your proposals towards a more thoughtful engagement…

Leave a Reply

