Do We Have Assurance?

4 thoughts on “Do We Have Assurance?”

  1. God’s love doesn’t reassure me because God loves some more than others. Aquinas’ teachings on predestination from the Summa show that God does not will the salvation of all men unequivocally. God chooses some to love more and to will their salvation. He rejects the rest. Obviously there is a lot more to be said on this issue.

  2. @Sam: From a theological perspective—from any perspective, honestly—the subject of God’s love is inexhaustible. I wrote this piece more as a meditation than a treatise. I had no pretensions, in any event, to writing anything definitive on the matter; I am not a scholar on the level of St. Thomas, much less a saint.

    I would, however, be more than willing to start a discussion with you on the issues you’ve raised. Before we start, could you please cite the specific passages in the Summa so that we can have a common frame of reference?

    Thanks for your comment!

  3. I truly believe assurance of salvation exists.

    Salvation comes not whether you FEEL Jesus, but whether you believe who Jesus is and trust what he has done for us once and for all.

    However, sin still resides in us and creeps back into our hearts, making believers often feel like they are still a slave to it. We relapse into this self-condemning mode and feel completely chained to our old self. But is that the reality? i don’t think so. Christians are born again. We experience rebirth into a new identity (a child of God). Despite whether I feel it or not ALL the time, I am still a child of God and nothing can change that… scripture example below…

    John 10:27-29–My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.

    My friend gave a good example for the context of this issue. He said this: “I’m Korean. I don’t always feel Korean. In fact, I feel more American than Korean most often, but that doesn’t change who I am. Korean is my identity. And I can act and talk and think like an American, but in the end, I’m still Korean.”

    Anyway, good topic.

  4. ooh sorry.. some references I picked from were all from the book of John (i.e. Jesus telling the people that all they need to do is believe to be saved, Nicodemus’ encounter with Jesus and conversation about being born again)

Leave a Reply

